Hawaii Map

hawaii Map

The only state that is not a part of the North American mainland and located in the tropics, Hawaii has a distinct geography of its own that has made it special and enigmatic. The state is made up of a chain of 132 islands, although, while talking about Hawaii, only eight main islands are taken into consideration. These eight main islands include Hawaii, Molokai, Lanai, Oahu, Kauai, Niiahu, and Kahoolawe. The other 126 islands are considered as unfit for human habitation covering an area of three square miles. Except the Kahoolawe, rest of the seven main islands are inhabited. The state lies approximately 2100 miles southwest of San Francisco.

Some of the Hawaiian coastline comprises of tall cliffs rising up from the edge of the water including large lave rocks that protrude in some places. Some of the beaches offer beautiful white sand while some are covered with black sand formed as a result of the molten lava meeting the ocean water. The Hawaiian island is known as the "Big Island" and is the youngest and the largest of the eight main islands encompassing an area of 4038 miles. The land area of this island is dominated by the world's two most active volcanoes, Kilauea and Mauna Loa. The land area of Hawaii comprises of 6423 square miles while the water area is measured as 4508 square miles, with most of it being part of the Pacific Ocean. Some of the major rivers of Hawaii include Wailuku and Anahulu. Salt Lake is one of the major lakes of the island state.

The Pearl Harbor lies on the southern coast of the Oahu Island, which is also on of the largest harbors in the Pacific and home to the U.S. Pacific Fleet. Oahu is also home to almost 75% of the population residing in the state of Hawaii. Two mountain ranges separated by a wide valley offer beautiful sceneries, and provide a fertile farming land where the sugarcane and pineapple plantations of the island flourish. The topography of Hawaii is very diverse and offers its visitors a true visual treat.

About hawaii